All Souls Day–A reflection in memoriam

ImageSo yesterday was the Feast of All Souls, a day when the Church prays for all those who have gone before us. It falls on the day after the Solemnity of All Saints.  I had the privilege over the past few days to spend time with CEOs and business leaders from Fortune 500 companies as well as practitioners and academics to talk about Spirituality in the Workplace.  What was the most amazing part of the whole experience was the depth that the business leaders expressed their own spiritual journey and they were not even aware of the depth.  The profundity of their statements and more profound their questions, show that there is an deep inner life and a deep hunger for embracing spirituality in the workplace or as they liked to say “bringing your whole self to work.”

With yesterday being the Feast of All Souls, I could not help but think about those people who have gone before us with the same longing and similar profound question in life and how they lived it out in their everyday ordinariness!  When one looks to hand on their faith, so often we look toward the officially sanctioned understanding of the faith that we are handing on, however, because of these recent experiences, it has lead me to think about the unofficial parts of my faith that I hand on because of those who have gone before me and how they responded to their own expressions of “bringing their whole self to work.”

The first two that came to mind are my maternal grandparents. Both my grandmother and grandfather were not particularly “churchy” people. As a matter of fact, I cannot recall a time in my life in which either of them ever attended Church, yet they always made sure that we as kids were attending.  Both of my grandparents had an “open door” policy long before it was a leadership policy.  They opened their home to everyone who needed a place to stay, a listening ear or just a good home cooked meal.  They both worked hard all of their life and expressed their gratitude by continuing to give of themselves to those in need.  While we never talked about faith in their home overtly, it was a conversion moment to know that grandma and grandpa would welcome everyone to their home and take care of their needs.  This was a core tenet of my family growing up, hospitality. These are some of the greatest memories I have of my grandparents, and so on All Souls Day they were quite present to me in my memory. 

So when I think about how I continue to pass on my faith in light of brining my whole self to work, I must find greater opportunities to be more hospitable.  How can I continue to integrate my “whole self” into my work and home?   “Drink in the richness of God.”–Psalm 34

Leave a Reply

